Ana’s Book Review: Find You in the Dark by A. Meredith Walters

Find You in the Dark by A. Meredith Walters (GR)

Series: Find You in the Dark (#1)

Published: October 10th 2012 (Kindle Edition)

Publisher: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.

Goodreads: “Maggie Young had the market on normal. Normal friends, normal parents, normal grades…normal life. Until him.
Clayton Reed was running from his past and an army of personal demons that threatened to take him down. He never thought he had a chance at happiness. Until her.
Maggie thought their love could overcome anything. Clay thought she was all he needed to fix his messy life. That together, they could face the world. But the darkness is always waiting. 
Sometimes the greatest obstacle to true love is within yourself.”

Review

Did you ever want to like something but there was a little something that kept bugging you and just wouldn’t let you like that something? If so, congratulations! You know exactly my feelings on this book. Even though I wanted to find that thing that would give me peace and make me love Find You in the Dark, from 5 to 5 pages there was a scene or action that just kept managing to bring out my rage!

To be honest, it took me a MONTH! A MONTH to get through with this book. Just to give you an idea, I read a book in about 2/3 days. If I’m really engrossed in one I might even read it in a day! But this… THIS took me a whole month to read! That’s a bad sign guys, a really bad sign. Sometimes you have other things to do, sometimes you just don’t feel like reading. This wasn’t the case with Find You in the Dark. Imagine me with the book in my hand (ok, I read the digital version but that is just more classy and it seems nicer in my head) and I’m just sitting in the sofa, reading like there was nothing happening around me. And then, out of nowhere, I read a scene that brings out, not the worst in me, but some really strong feelings, and I’m not talking about the good ones. I throw the book in the air and just say “Fuck it. I can’t read this anymore. It’s so… GARRRGH!!!” This happened too many times in my head to count. But I just wouldn’t be with peace in myself while I didn’t finish the book so, after a couple of days I picked it up again. And after some time I just wanted to throw it out of the window.

I’m not saying this is a bad book, guys. It isn’t a bad book at all, I don’t know anything about bipolar disorder or how one should deal with it but from what I read it’s pretty hard on everyone and what happens in the book is really emotional stuff and I feel it’s not for anyone. I think A. Meredith Walters did an awesome job writing a book where a young girl falls in love with a boy who has this disease and describes every little thing they have to go through. It’s deep, it’s heart wrenching, it broke me into little pieces sometimes. But it wasn’t a book that called to me. I liked it but there were lots of times when I just didn’t know why I was reading this book. It just wasn’t the book for me, and for that I really feel like I have to say that this book has a LOT of good aspects to it but wasn’t my cup of tea. Basically I was like:

but…

About the book in specific and the characters. On the one hand, Maggie seemed like a pretty cool character to me. She never let the fact that Clay was a little bit different make her stay away from me. On the other hand, Clay was a difficult character for me to understand, obviously. He was constantly changing moods and turned at times into a violent person. Now, what bothered me the most was the fact that Maggie let him at the beginning be rude to her and, even though he wouldn’t be physical with her, he kind of threatened her several times throughout the book. Why, WHY would she excuse him because of his condition. I’m the kind of girl who if someone even raises the voice at me that person will most likely never get to even speak to me again. But Maggie let him treat her in a way that no human being should be treated and this happened most of the times in front of her friends! By the way, LOVED her friends! They were always there for her and when Clay’s head hit the fan they defended her right away. Shame she wouldn’t listen to them when they warned her of his behaviour.

Now, I’m not saying Clay didn’t love Maggie. He did, oh he fucking did! In my opinion it just wasn’t worth going through all that suffering to be with the one you loved. Some fucked up things, crazy things, happened and they are only SEVENTEEN! What kind of 17 year old girl has to deal with that stuff? Maggie did try to help Clay but her behaviour toward her parents was just a big no-no for me. They might have been a little “WE DON’T LIKE CLAY! GET AWAY FROM HIM!” but you don’t do the stuff she did.

On a final note, Clay’s parents suuuuuuuuuuckkkkkkkkkk. I wanted to get into the book and hit them in the face. Oh the feels!!!!

Because I really don’t know how to  rate this book I’m giving it

2.5 Chibis

4 thoughts on “Ana’s Book Review: Find You in the Dark by A. Meredith Walters

  1. “Did you ever want to like something but there was a little something that kept bugging you and just wouldn’t let you like that something?” Yes!! I’ve had that experience in a lot of “popular books” that everyone reads. Gosh I hate it when you just have to get stuck with reading a book for a month but you don’t want to drop it.

    Glad you stuck through even though it wasn’t the best of books you’ve read!

    • I always feel like there must be something wrong with me when I don’t like books that everyone seems to like ahaha And it was really hard because I just wanted to finish it. I simply had to finish reading the book! Arghhh.

      Have you read it yet??

  2. I totally get it! It’s like you just can’t seem to wrap your mind on what aspect of the novel keeps rubbing you the wrong way; despite your constant attempts to LOVE the novel. I’m the same exact way when I read books. 1-3 days, at most. If it takes any longer, then you know I’m not really feeling the novel too much.

Leave a Reply

