Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Series: Mara Dyer (#1)

Published: March 1st 2012 (Paperback)

Publisher: Simon Pulse UK

Goodreads: “Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger. She wakes from a coma in hospital with no memory of how she got there or of the bizarre accident that caused the deaths of her best friends and her boyfriend, yet left her mysteriously unharmed. The doctors suggest that starting over in a new city, a new school, would be good for her and just to let the memories gradually come back on their own.

But Mara’s new start is anything but comforting. She sees the faces of her dead friends everywhere, and when she suddenly begins to see other people’s deaths right before they happen, Mara wonders whether she’s going crazy! And if dealing with all this wasn’t enough, Noah Shaw, the most beautiful boy she has ever seen can’t seem to leave her alone… but as her life unravels around her, Mara can’t help but wonder if Noah has another agenda altogether…”

Review

I didn’t want to read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. Serious, I avoided this book at all cost and I don’t even know why. Maybe it was because the cover is absolutely fucking beautiful and I just didn’t want to feel let down by another book whose cover was stunning but content was, sorry for my French, shit. So when my dearest friend and co-blogger, Sofyy, was like “YOU MUST READ IT! IT’S AMAZING AND CREEPY AND IT WILL BLOW YOUR MIND!!!” I was like “Girl, you crazy??!”

But then she did something so funny: she hilariously bought two physical copies of the book by mistake (and only noticed when the books arrived! Oh Sofyy, you’re amazing) and was going to return it but I though ‘Oh well, might as well give the book a chance’ so she passed the other copy to me. Guess what, I couldn’t put the damn book down! It’s mind-blowing. And she was right, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is creepy, addictive, and definitely a pageturner. So imagine my face when I finished reading it.

Reaction GIF: what the fuck?, Matt LeBlanc, Joey Tribbiani, Friends

Yup, it was probably like this

In The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer we have Mara, a girl who was in an accident in which her friends died. We don’t know what happened, just that she survived. Without spoiling anything, I can only say that they move to Florida. There she goes to a new school and we are right away introduced to Noah Shaw (who everyone is speaking about on tumblr btw!),  the mean girl of the school, Anna, and her right arm, Aidan. Aparently, Noah is sex on a stick and every girl has been with him so Mara tries to stay away from him in the beginning. BUT THEN, SURPRISE SURPRISE, Noah is actually a good guy and she obviously is attracted to him. Thank God! He is, as someone said to me on tumblr, British perfection! AH!

This book is one of my favourites of 2013 so far but there were things that were kind of left hanging by the end and I hope they are resolved or explained in book 2. First, how come no one even thought about Jamie, Mara’s first friend at her new school, when he is expelled? Uh, guys, he just disappears and then there’s no word from him (well, he is grounded and has no way to communicate outside his house) but not even Mara thinks about him throughout the rest of the book. Wut?? He just goes missing from the book just like that.  Then, IF there was more creepy scenes and less romance I wouldn’t have minded, too. Of course, I loved all the Noah we got from the book but I wanted more paranormal and creepy from this book. The only supernatural factor appears by the end because, even though I think WE ALL knew the obvious since the beginning and what was happening was not a mystery at all (what Mara is capable of is like a pie in your face. Come on, huge spoiler in the prologue).

What I didn’t see coming was Noah’s secret. He really is a GOOD guy! Wow. And I was completely stunned by the ending. Why would Mara do that??? Why?? And then she just…. (trying not to spoil the ending guys!) ARGGHHHH

Finally, why does the little dog (the name isn’t coming to me right now) run away from Mara everytime she enters a room?? Does Mara’s power scare animals??

4.5 Chibis

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

    • Yup, British *swoon* I kept reading his dialogue with british accent in my head ahaha
      You should definitely read it. I heard the second book is even better!
      Thanks Joana 🙂

    • Read it! And yup, the cover is just so pretty… *drools* Thank goodness the book itself was good (at least for me) otherwise it would be one more cover for a boring and not really good book.

  1. Aah, such a fantastic review! I’m absolutely thrilled to hear you loved it so much, and I hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the series. I’ve read the first two books and CANNOT WAIT for the third, and I really love them- the only thing I don’t really like is the amount of swearing, but it’s lesser in the second book. Excellent review!

    • Oh, thank you! I still haven’t got the second book but I’m thinking of ordering it next week, I don’t think I can wait any longer to read it! (The good thing is I won’t have to wait long to read the third like this) I don’t really remember the level of swearing in the book really, I was so foccused on the story I didn’t even see how “bad-mouthed” the characters were ahaha Even I swear on this review so I can’t really say much >.<"

Leave a Reply

