POV: 1st Person vs 3rd Person

I recently found out that many people have problems with 1st person POVs. At first I just couldn’t help thinking that most of the books I read ARE narrated in the first person and I never really thought about it. If I’m being honest, I must admit, I like first person POVs. They are more captivating and I love being inside the head of the character without having to read “he/she” all the time. I feel like I’m more connected to the characters. However, there are exceptions where I don’t mind reading in a third person POV but are few the books like that that I finish reading. Like I said, it might be that I think and feel more like the character, I don’t really know. Maybe it’s because when I first really started reading a lot (and I’m talking post Harry Potter phase) most of or all the books I read were, in fact, narrated in the first person.

Now, I completely understand why people find 1st person POVs rather unattractive or annoying. Firstly, it all depends on the character. If the character is annoying there are higher chances that most won’t even bother to finish reading the book. It happens all the time with me! For example, weak, irritating and/or bitchy main character are a huge no no for me. I don’t like them and I just don’t want to waste my time reading about a them. These traits are more obvious in a 1st person POV and the thoughts expressed by the character can annoy the hell out of a person. I usually just want to break something and be able to take the character in question out of the book and give him/her a little shake. But, unfortunately, we can’t do that so I just try to stay away from this type of books.

Secondly, another thing that might bother some people is not knowing more about the others characters. Sometimes the secondary character are more interesting that the mains and we just want to have more insight on what’s happening to them. Also, and I’m only talking about the books I’ve read, it get’s a little upsetting when something big happens and I want to know what everyone is thinking but no, we just know one character’s reaction…

And that’s all the negative things I have to say about 1st person POV. As I said, I’m a huge fan and I don’t know if my tastes will change in the future (it is actually the most probable thing) but for now, I don’t have a lot to say about the downs and ups of reading in 1st person or 3rd person.

If you’re curious, the books in the 3rd person that I’ve most enjoyed and Gabriel’s Inferno (it’s an amazing book that I would recommend to those who like to read adult books. It’s really good and, psst, there is no hardcore scenes, damn I don’t really want to spoil the book, but it’s a brief of fresh air to find a book that is mostly about emotions and sexual tension that sex in itself and some really really strange things that I really don’t want to read about.The 3rd person POV was really well done and I think that the book was written in the 1st person it would lose a lot of the content and some of its beauty) and It Had To Be You (first part of the book was good but by the end it drags a little but it was a nice read and the 3rd person POV allowed me to know what was happening always with almost every character.)

What do you prefer, 1st or 3rd person POVs? And why?

4 thoughts on “POV: 1st Person vs 3rd Person

  1. Two of my favorite series were written in 1st person (Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series and The Hunger Games), and now that I think about it, I like 1st person the best. As long as the main character is interesting and not annoying, I find that I get more sucked into the story, and events seem more dire when you’re essentially looking through that character’s eyes rather than watching things unfold at a safe distance. It’s more compelling that way.

    • I loved those series, too and The Fever series is also one of my favourites. The only thing I can say is that I agree with you, you explained it better than I did! ahaha

  2. Well, so far 1st person POV are my favorite! I think I get more engaged in the story that way, seeing it all through that person eyes and fully grasp all it’s emotions. It feels more personal.
    But like you said, it is a problem if you don’t like the character! In fact the few books I dnf were books that I just couldn’t stand the main character, she would bother and annoy me beyond reason.
    Anyway, there are some books that made me also love 3rd person POV , Gabriel’s Inferno like you said it’s a great example. Also the Consequences series!

    But, yeah, 1st person just won me over 😀

    • I usually try to ALWAYS finish a book but there are times when I just give up when a character only manages to anger me *sigh*
      I’ve never read teh Consequences series! There are so many good reviews on Goodreads but I never thought of reading it. It might go to my TBR now… xD

Leave a Reply

