Book Review: Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Series: Just One Day (#1)

Published: January 8th 2013

Publisher: Dutton Books

Goodreads: When sheltered American good girl Allyson “LuLu” Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.”

Review

I don’t understand Gayle Forman’s books. Better yet, I don’t understand my reaction to them. When I found out Gayle Forman was releasing another book I hugged my mom, my dad, my dogs, the stranger passing in front of my house. However, I tried to resist the temptation of reading it because it was going to be a series, or in this case, a story divided in two books, and I did NOT want to wait too much between both books. So, I dutifully waited and have finally read Just One Day. The blurb seemed simple, but I wouldn’t reject this book without giving it a try. I wouldn’t.  I am now glad I didn’t. This book is now one of my favourites of 2013. One of the things that made me smile was the fact that I read Just One Day on my subway rides to college. This is a book about traveling and while reading it I could only think about everyone who is on vacation should read it. And you’re about to know why.

In Just One Day we follow Allyson on her European Tour with a group of fellow teenagers and her best friend. However, by the end she meets a Dutch amateur actor, Willem, and starts a journey of her own. Don’t let yourself be fooled. This isn’t a book about their love, of how they fall in love and how their life together as a couple develops. If you have read other books by this author you should have noticed that all her books are intense in a simplistic way, they get to you and make you think. This is a book that got to me. It really did. I’m pretty sure that my seat neighbors in the subway must have though I was bipolar or crazy. I laughed out loud, I teared up and sniffed a lot, probably because I was with a cold but most of the times I was trying not to cry in full baby mode in the middle of the subway. That is not cool.

Picking up what I was saying before, this book has sweet moments and yes, ok, we see how they meet and what their day was. They only had a day together and while that might seem unrealistic to most, even to me, it made me dream of having a day like that. Except maybe for the day after when I see the other person has left. So, Allyson wakes up and Willem is gone. She goes back and tries to forget it but can’t do it. He’s always there, on her thoughts, and she just wants some closure, to know what happened, why he just left. And thus she embarks in a new journey all on her own. She goes to Europe alone and just goes where she feels she must go. This might not make much sense but I get her, I really do. How many times do we go to a new place and have the whole day planned and just not enjoy the feeling of being somewhere new. What I learned from this book was how to just feel. Don’t plan a single thing and just go wherever I want to, to do what I feel like doing. And that’s why I have this sudden urge to just skip college and go traveling (which I am NOT going to do. Maybe on the next holidays… Definitely then!).

This is probably not a real review and more a insight of how this book made me feel but I don’t really care. THIS BOOK MADE ME FEEL and that’s what’s important. I don’t want to spoil this book for anyone so what I can say is go read it. READ IT AND FEEL.

4.5 Chibis

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Just One Day by Gayle Forman

  1. Pingback: Just One Day by Gayle Forman | Therine is dying to read...

Leave a Reply

