Sofyy’s book review: Stripped by Jasinda Wilder

StrippedStripped by Jasinda Wilder

Published:  August 16th 2013

Publisher:  Self-published

Goodreads:  “So how did I get myself into this situation, you ask? Simple: desperation. When you’re faced with being homeless and hungry or taking off your clothes for money, the choice is easier than you’d imagine. That doesn’t make it easy, though. Oh no. I hate it, in fact. There’s nothing I’d like more than to quit and never go into another bar again, never hear the techno beat pulsing in my ears again, never feel the lecherous gazes of horny men again.Then, one day, I meet a man. He’s in my club, front and center. He watches me do my routine, and his gaze is full of hunger. Not the kind of desire I’m used to though. It’s something different. Something hotter, deeper, and more possessive. I know who he is; of course I do. Everyone knows who Dawson Kellor is. He’s People Magazine’s Sexiest Man alive. He’s the hottest actor in Hollywood. He’s the man hand-picked for the role of Rhett Butler in the long-awaited remake of Gone With the Wind. 

He’s the kind of man who can have any woman in the entire world with a mere crook of his finger. So what’s he doing looking at me like he has to have me? And how do I resist him when he looks at me with those intoxicating, changeable, quicksilver eyes? I’m a virgin, and he’s an American icon of male sexuality. I’m a stripper, and he’s a man used to getting anything and everything he wants. And he wants me. I know I should say no, I know he’s the worst kind of player…but what my mind knows, my body and my heart may not.And then things get complicated.”

Review

This was the first book I’d ever read by Jasinda Wilder.

First of all, I feel the need to say that I don’t like the cover, it makes the book look…cheap? I can’t seem to find a better word to describe it.

Second, I really liked the main characters!!!

Meet Dawson Kellor, one of the most famous actors ever, heart-throb, man-candy, pure hotness, God on earth, etc, this man is pure PERFECTION! He’s currently my fictional boyfriend, I mean, how could I just not fall for him? This man has everything!

Grey Amundsen is a young-woman who loves to dance and wishes to work in the movie industry in the future. Unfortunately, after her mom’s death and her father not allowing her to make her dream come true, she leaves her little home town and moves to the big city to go to university. There she faces a lot of hardships; she doesn’t have much money to pay for her degree, for her little apartment and her food. As such, she starts searching for a job. But she finds none, except for a crappy job at a strip club (even I have to admit this sounds too surreal, not to mention ridiculous, I mean, SERIOUSLY, a STRIP CLUB?!) Anyway, on one of her shifts she meets Dawson Kellor, the movie star.

The relationship between the two of them goes too fast, it’s like “Hey I just met you, but damn, I love you already”… In the past I would’ve really loved to read this, but now, after reading so many insta-love stories, ehh, idk, just makes me feel that the love between them is not real. I guess love has to be built by getting to know each other little by little, but the love between them blooms so fast that I felt uneasy towards it, I just expected to later find out something terrible about Dawson. But no… all hearts and flowers… Sure, they do face some problems… paparazzi, weird drunkard (this last one always happens, always!). Perhaps it’s me who has changed and now wants to read something that will change me.

Overall, this book is good, I don’t question that, but with this story, Jasinda could’ve written something a lot better.

3 Chibis

2 thoughts on “Sofyy’s book review: Stripped by Jasinda Wilder

  1. Pingback: Stripped | What Raina Reads

  2. Pingback: Men Suck | Review of Stripped

Leave a Reply

