Sofyy’s Book Review: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Image

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Series: (White Rabbit Chronicles #1)

Published: January 1st 2012

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Goodreads:  “ She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies…. I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.

I’d tell my sister no.

I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.

I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.

Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.

I’d tell them I love them.

I wish… Yeah, I wish.”

Review:

I actually read this book last year, (and read it again this summer), it’s so good that I felt the need to share it with you guys, I recommend it to everyone who simply enjoys reading an awesome book!

I know, Alice in Wonderland and Zombies? Weird, right? I know, it doesn’t sound good, I,  myself wasn’t really into it when I started reading it… In my head Alice would be a little girl who would find herself in a different world, in this case, Zombieland, a land full of, guess what? Zombies!  It even made me remember the Resident Evil movies! If I’m not mistaken, the main character’s name is Alice.

Happily this book didn’t go the way I thought!

The story starts with happy blond Alice playing in the garden with her little sister, Ema. Ema’s birthday is in a few days and she begs Alice to talk to their mom because she wants to participate in a ballet recital. She never had the chance before because their father is afraid of the monsters who wander out in the street at night. My first impression on Alice’s father was that he was a crazy, agoraphobic and alcoholic man! He was always wandering around the house at night, drunk and armed (a dangerous combination if I might add), to see if he found any of those monsters he always referred to. Of course, I understood he was talking about zombies, that part seemed obvious, but what it didn’t was, if there were zombies, why would they only come out at night? And also, why could only Alice’s dad see them?

Alice’s mom is able to convince her husband to allow Ema to take part in her ballet recital on her birthday. As such, the family leaves and watches the recital, Alice’s dad always acting paranoid and crazy (but I guess that would be the normal him). Unfortunately, when they’re returning home, Alice’s dad starts screaming and yelling that there are monsters on the road, although no one sees them besides him.  Alice’s mom loses control on the wheel and they crash. Alice sees Ema, dead, her father, also dead, and her mom being devoured by zombies!

Alice then awakens in the hospital, where she’s told her family died, and she escaped with mere scratches. Then she moves to her grandparent’s house which is in a different city.

Eight months later (I can’t remember is it was eight months or not…), is Alice’s first day of school, Alice is now obsessed in finding out what were those things eating her mother and starts seeing things, sometimes when she is looking through her window at night. Anyway, Alice befriends Katy (love this character, she’s funny, awesome, badass, feminine, idk, she rules), whom she had met at the hospital after the accident. Alice then sees a group of rough-looking guys: black, leather, bruises, cuts, metals chains, tattoos, you know the drill, but then she sees Cole, whom I must say is described as:

“He was gorgeous, and I absolutely, no question, had to be drooling. After a quick and hopefully stealthy check – big show, I wasn’t!- I found myself wonder what color his eyes were. Brown maybe. Or even hazel. Either way…wow, just wow. (…)”

But once they look at each other’s eyes, something happens… No, it is not an imprint like on Twilight (THANK HEAVENS!), nor what happens on Significance series by Shelly Crane (if you haven’t read the Significance series, you have to do it!). Even though neither of these happen, I daresay, that what happens is…: hot, sexy, heart-throbbing, amazing, but nonetheless, wtf just happened in here? I mean, they were there and now they’re like… playing hokey with their tongues, not that I mind, but still, it’s confusing me!

But, worry not, all your doubts will be answered to further in the story.

I want to tell you more details, but I feel that I would be spoiling you! I don’t like it when people do that to me, so I won’t do it to you… BUT, if you want to know more ask me! Or if you have read this book want to talk about it, feel free to talk to me, I would love to hear your opinions!

This book is a lot more than a zombie story, or a love story, or even a story where the main character fights dark forces, I feel I have said a lot, but not nearly enough! Trust me, this book has so much to say, and has FREAKING PLOT-TWISTS that killed me! After reading Alice in Zombieland I was dying to read the second one! (which I read last month, and it was even better that the second one! I didn’t even think that was possible! Yes, I am currently dying to read the third one, which will only be out next year, October…. *cries*)

Gena Showalter is a genius who takes you into a world which is both frightening and compelling…

5 Chibis

3 thoughts on “Sofyy’s Book Review: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

  1. I was okay with this one. There whole connecting thing that happened between actually made me hate the book. And the fact that it relates nothing whatsoever to Alice in wonderland. No mad hatter! But that is just my opinion and I am glad it was your cup of tea.

    • I disliked it too, at first, it was really confusing. Even after I finished reading AIZL it was still confusing me. Gena explains it better on the second book, now it actually makes sense to me. I’m sad you didn’t like it, but then again, as you said, it’s my opinion, just as you have yours.

  2. Pingback: Blitz: After Dark by Gena Showalter and Kait Ballenger | Why I Can't stop Reading

Leave a Reply

