Sofyy’s Book Review: If I Were You by Lisa Renee Jones

If I Were You (Inside Out Trilogy, #1)

If I Were You by Lisa Renee Jones

Series: Inside Out (#1)

Published: September 13th 2012

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Goodreads: “The steamy first installment in the Inside Out erotic romance trilogy by Lisa Renee Jones, in the bestselling tradition of Fifty Shades of Grey. 

When Sara McMillan finds a stack of journals in a storage unit, she’s shocked and enthralled by the erotic life the writer led. Unable to stop reading, she vicariously lives out dark fantasies through Rebecca, the writer—until the terrifying final entry. 

Certain something sinister has happened, Sara sets out to discover the facts, immersing herself in Rebecca’s life. Soon she’s working at the art gallery Rebecca worked at and meeting Rebecca’s friends. Finding herself drawn to two dangerously sexy men, the manager of the gallery and a famed artist, Sara realizes she’s going down the same path Rebecca took. But with the promise of her dark needs being met by a man with confident good looks and a desire for control, she’s not sure anything else matters. Just the burn for more.”

Review

When I started reading the book I was expecting a Fifty Shades of  Grey story, with a controlling rich hottie, an innocent female character and lots of non-vanilla sex. So I was totally uninterested and bored… But after the first chapter I got so into it! Guys, if you didn’t like Fifty Shades of Grey or you don’t like to read about BDSM, you can still read this book! I think Goodreads described this book very poorly. You won’t find BDSM sex scenes, at least between the main character, Sara McMilan, and her “lover”, Chris Merit.

This story goes a lot deeper than a romance where the experienced “Dominant” introduces BDSM to the virginal “Submissive”. In this story you will read about a  woman who finds a few journals written by a woman called Rebecca. Rebecca is what you would call an Anastasia Steel (hahaha), she met a rich guy who showed her the dark side of … sex? (I don’t want to keep repeating myself by always saying BDSM – and I just said it again). Anyway, Sara decides she wants to look for Rebecca and give her her journals back. She calls the place where she works at, an art gallery, but everyone says Rebecca is on holidays. So Sara “infiltrates” herself on the art gallery and somehow gets hired by Mark, her sexy, intense, mysterious boss. (I know this sounds cliché, but no, what you think’s gonna happen isn’t gonna happen). Then Sara meets Chris, an artist who dresses like a biker (weird combination if I may add).

Sara and Chris then start having a hot affair,lots of  hot sex between them, then they reveal some of their secrets to each other, Chris getting jealous because Sara’s boss, Mark, wants to “do her” (his words!! no actually, he used the F- word but I’m trying to be polite here xD) – Even though, I thought this part of the book was hot, it was very tiring to read, I just wanted Sara to find out more things about Rebecca, nobody knows where she is, just that she’s on holiday with her rich boyfriend whose name nobody knows! Sara even starts suspecting that Rebecca might be dead! Lisa Renee Jones wrote all the sex scenes on one place, so it took me a while to read it since it was very repetitive. Trust me, I like a good sex scene like everyone else, but too much get’s boring…

In the last chapters Sara finds out a few things about her boss and Chris, things that frighten her… she then decides to concentrate more on the Rebecca mystery.  But when she’s about to find out something that will probably be a huge mind-blown, BAMM! THE END!

“NOOOOOOOO!”- I thought “How the hell can this end this way?!! One cannot simply end a book like this!”, but this ending made me realize that I liked reading this book, it was something different from what I’m used to read, and I’m totally in for good surprises xD I think I will read the second book but not for now.

3.5 Chibis

One thought on “Sofyy’s Book Review: If I Were You by Lisa Renee Jones

  1. Pingback: Sofyy’s Book Review: If I Were You by Lisa Renee Jones | "fate is never fair"

Leave a Reply

