Sofyy’s book Review: World After by Susan Ee

World After (Penryn & the End of Days, #2)World After by Susan Ee

Series: Penryn & End of Days (#2)

Published: November 19th 2013

Publisher: Skyscape

Goodreads:In this sequel to the bestselling fantasy thriller, Angelfall, the survivors of the angel apocalypse begin to scrape back together what’s left of the modern world.

When a group of people capture Penryn’s sister Paige, thinking she’s a monster, the situation ends in a massacre. Paige disappears. Humans are terrified. Mom is heartbroken.

Penryn drives through the streets of San Francisco looking for Paige. Why are the streets so empty? Where is everybody? Her search leads her into the heart of the angels’ secret plans where she catches a glimpse of their motivations, and learns the horrifying extent to which the angels are willing to go.

Meanwhile, Raffe hunts for his wings. Without them, he can’t rejoin the angels, can’t take his rightful place as one of their leaders. When faced with recapturing his wings or helping Penryn survive, which will he choose?”

Review

So, World After…

ASDFGHJKLÇASWBDGFREJGJREFDVJSDJCJ SFKJDCVHJDSFXDHNSFDHWEHDBSKJHCKFDJVBGKJDFLJKBGLDKFLJKZLJDVJGDVLVDJCLJDFJVBFJVBJFDLKJVBLJF

My computer is fine… BUT NOT ME! I’M JUST… DAMN! This is book is SO F****** GOOD I JUST CANNOT

DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA WHAT YOU DID TO ME SUSAN EE??!!

Okk…. no, I’m not calm but I will try not to look so crazy…

Anyways… *awkward silence*  allow me to say that although this book wasn’t as good as the first one, it was still AWESOME, BEAUTIFUL AND THRILLING (I’ll try to stop using capital letters xD)

In this book you see Penryn fighting to save herself, to save her sister, Raffe and everyone, in this book you realize that Penryn is a fighter and a  warrior who fights for what she believes (I guess that’s her life and her family’s ahaha). Penryn struggles in a world where she can’t expect help from nobody, where she can’t rely on anyone but herself. And even though this all seems too badass material you can still see remnants of funny, hilarious, girly Penryn, I mean, this chick is so amazing, I found myself chanting Beyonce’s Run the World (Girls) during her fighting moments – ahaha seriously!!

LET’S NOT FORGET WHAT SHE CALLED RAFFE’S FRIGGING SWORD!!!! She actually named it Pooky Bear!!! I died… I just, I was laughing my ass off (not literally, for heaven’s sake)

“I am Pooky Bear, from an ancient line of archangel swords.” – Raffe

Her poor sword has to announce itself to the other swords with kind of a War Scream… Can you imagine it? Instead of hearing something like “THIS IS SPARTAAAAAA!” no, you hear “I AM POOKY BEAR, FEAR ME, FOR I AM RUTHLESS!” xD

"Do you realize that when she fights battles, she’s going to have to announce herself to the opposing sword? She’ll be forced to say something ridiculous like, ‘I am Pooky Bear, from an ancient line of archangel swords.’ Or, ‘Bow down to me, Pooky Bear, who has only two other equals in all the worlds.’”

Once Raffe saw that Penryn was alive, something woke up in me, something wild, crazy and uncontrollable, something only book nerds and fangirls have… DA FEELS!

‘It really is you’, says Raffe. He’s staring at me, stunned. His fist is mid-air but paused in the middle of pummeling the hell out of Beliel who is bloody and staggering. He starts a slow smile that melts my bones.”

And Penryn’s sister, Paige! I felt so saddened and sorry for her, poor little girl.. I just wanted to hug her and tell her everything’s gonna be fine… 😦

Let’s not forget that Raffe now has demonic wings … (I can’t say more without spoiling, which is something I’m trying to avoid)

I don’t want to say a lot more cause I know most people still haven’t read the book (yes Ana, I’m talking about you *evil smirk*). For those who have, you probably understand what I’m feeling, Susan Ee plotted this, she knows exactly what to do to strike us right in the heart and leave us mental and crying in a corner like kids.

This book cann0t be described , it is something felt (believe me, you feel A LOT!)

If you haven’t even read the first one, Angelfall, allow me to “kindly” say: “WTF are you still doing here?! Go read Angelfall! right now, come back after you read it!” sorry for my rudeness but right now I can’t act all polite and proper xp

As expected,

5 Chibis

 

 

3 thoughts on “Sofyy’s book Review: World After by Susan Ee

  1. I freakin love your review Sofyy!
    I just finished the book and for me it was just PERFECT and all KINDS OF AMAZING *sigh (I also can’t stay away from capital letters)!
    OMG, don’t let me start on that reunion…it was *asdfghjklç*, right in the feels! From that part to the end i think i highlighted the whole book,aha.
    And how awesome is pooky bear? Gosh, if i laughed first with the reaction of the twins, when Raffe discovered I LMAO…so damn hilarious!
    Well, now the excruciating waiting for the next book begins 😐

    • Thank you, I’m glad you liked it 🙂
      capital letters are a must when you’re just too damn excited xD
      you bet…we’ll have to wait a year! can you imagine that?! *sighs* i just want Raffe feels like everybody else ahaha

  2. OOhh I stayed away from this review because I wanted to read the book first, but now I see that you mentioned me! OAMGKHFXWNKTH GATG4QKBTXNQIRQOXQNX AMAZING! ARGHHH And now we have to wait until 2015 -.-‘

Leave a Reply

