Book Review: Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones

Escaping Reality (The Secret Life of Amy Bensen, #1)

Escaping Reality by Lisa Renee Jones

Series: The Secret Life of Amy Bensen (#1)

Published: July 22nd 2013

Publisher: Julie Patra Publishing

Summary: “Infinite possibilities…. Infinite passion….. Infinite danger….
His touch spirals through me, warm and sweet, wicked and hot. I shouldn’t trust him. I shouldn’t tell him my secrets. But how do I not when he is the reason I breathe? He is what I need.

At the young age of eighteen, tragedy and a dark secret force Lara to flee all she has known and loves to start a new life. Now years later, with a new identity as Amy, she’s finally dared to believe she is forgotten–even if she cannot forget. But just when she lets down her guard, the ghosts of her past are quick to punish her, forcing her back on the run. 
On a plane, struggling to face the devastation of losing everything again and starting over, Amy meets Liam Stone, a darkly entrancing recluse billionaire, who is also a brilliant, and famous, prodigy architect. A man who knows what he wants and goes after it. And what he wants is Amy. Refusing to take “no” as an answer, he sweeps her into a passionate affair, pushing her to her erotic limits. He wants to possess her. He makes her want to be possessed. Liam demands everything from her, accepting nothing less. But what if she is too devastated by tragedy to know when he wants more than she should give? And what if there is more to Liam than meets the eyes?”

Review

I see a trend on the blog, a Lisa Renee Jones trend *cough*. Escaping Reality is the first book by this author that I have ever read. I knew of a really popular book by her, If I Were You, but since I’m not a fan of 50 shades like books, and everyone was comparing it to it, I never really bothered to check her other books. Then I saw this on Netgalley with the Read Now option and said “Why not?”. Okay, I didn’t know it was the same author until Soffy pointed it out to me but whatever. I actually want to read book 2 whenever I have the chance but it’s not a book I’d die for (we all have THAT list).

Escaping Reality is about Amy, a girl who is running away from something she doesn’t even know what is but she knows it was what killed her parents. When she has to move again she meets at the airport an incredibly sexy, mouth-watering, drool-worthy (see my exaggeration right?) man. (He has  a goatee, argh, that’s awful). Turns out they are going to the same city and they start a hot relationship there.

I didn’t really feel a connection between the two of them but wanted to see how the book ended anyway so I read it till the end. Their relationship was a bit forced, too much attraction at first sight. Also, he was the alpha type, no thank you. Who wants a guy that turns into  a possessive jerk whenever they are in a bad mood? But what made me really want to see the end was the mystery. We never freaking know who is on her side, who is the enemy. She starts “working” in a real estate company but her boss is never there. She thought at first that it was just a fake job but turns out they actually make her start working. The problem? Is it a real job or she moved to the wrong city? Her supposed new friend, who is also a co-worker, who is she? Why does it seem like she has some ulterior motives? And her next-door neighbour? It’s all such a big mystery that I just want to read book 2. Yeah, the romance sucks, she is weak and he is too possessive, too macho-man, but if you ditch the romance it’s possible to see the great plot and possible twists that the author has planned.

In fact, I would have taken this book more seriously if we just took some of the sex scenes out. Just put more insight in Amy’s past and voilá! A book for everyone to read. Okay, we don’t have sex all the time, the author just skipped to the next morning sometimes. I was pleasantly surprised. But still, more plot and action in the next book please. Well, I’m pretty sure that’s what’s gonna happen!

In addition, like every single time, the books ends with an extremely good and nerve-wrecking cliffhanger! Not that I mind, now I just can’t wait to put my hands on books 2.

3 Chibis

*Galley received by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a honest review*

Leave a Reply

