Book Review: Endless Knight by Kresley Cole

Endless Knight (The Arcana Chronicles, #2)

Endless Knight by Kresley Cole

Series: The Arcana Chronicles (#2)

Published: October 1st 2013

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Summary: “Evie has her full powers as the Tarot Empress, and Jack was there to see it all. Teens reincarnated as the Tarot are in the throes of an epic battle for mankind. She must trust new allies against other Arcana, Bagmen zombies, post-apocalyptic storms, and cannibals. But she’s also drawn to Death, the Endless Knight, who shares history with the Empress. She can’t remember; he can’t forget.”

Thank you Sofyy for lending me this series!

Review

*This review contains spoilers*

Endless Knight is the stunning, but apparently extremely disliked, sequel to Poison Princess (you can read Sofyy’s review about it here). Evie learned about her powers and we finally get to know what Matthew was always talking about. Basically, we now know what the hell was happening in Poison Princess. With all the Tarot cards wanting to kill each other and alliances being formed, the Empress, the Moon, the Fool, the Magician and Jack (poor Jack, he isn’t a card so he doesn’t get a special name) try to formulate a plan to kill Death. But Death seems to be on step ahead of them, Matthew as a certain debt he has to pay so he gives him access to his eyes, and a new plot starts to unveil.

Even though many see this book as an excuse for creating a love triangle, I don’t really see it that way. Sure, by the end it kind of turns into one but them it’s not one again. Arghhh this series is like a mind twister. Does that exist? Doesn’t really matter. I guess it depends on how you see it. When Death suddenly gets the upper hand, sorry for spoilers here but there is a warning right in the beginning of the review, Evie sees herself trapped with him in his fabulous mansion. Oh yeah, Death is handsome, smart AND  rich. He’s the perfect catch, except for a tiny thing he does by the end of the book but I’ll get to that later. Forced to expect death everyday (see the pun here), Matthew tells her the only way to survive is to seduce Death. Some new things are brought to light and *drum roll* Evie befriends Death and throws Jack out of the picture. Not that I minded, not being a Jack fan myself.

Despite being in Death’s team for almost the entire book, I did not like what he does in the end. He completely destroyed his perfect image in my head, and I wanted him to be perfect. I can only hope Evie turns into the badass I wanted in the next book. Yup, I want a Evie villain. In fact, I want a Red Witch in the next book. I wanted her in this book, didn’t get what I want so… Red Witch in book 3 please????

Also, I don’t understand Matthew’s role in all this. I know who he is and what Card he represents, what I don’t know is if he has ulterior motives? I feel like he is the evil guy in this series. He might be only helping Evie so that later on she will hesitate with confronting him. He’s the most confusing character in the series and I want to find out more about him. Even Death is easier to understand! Okay, Jack is still the character that is completely out of context in the whole must-destroy-other-teens game but I get that he obviously loves Evie, even though he did some things, too, that were meh.

Now I have the torturous 1 year wait until the next book, which I think will be fantastic, comes out. Until then I’ll be checking GR to see if the release date has been miraculously changed.

PS: Who makes or chooses these covers? They are awful!

4.5 Chibis

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Endless Knight by Kresley Cole

  1. I kinda like the first cover, the second one, eh… they could make all black covers with something on it to make it look badass xD

    I KNEW YOU WERE GONNA LIKE THIS SERIES! :)))

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole | Chibi Reader

Leave a Reply

