Book Review: Amulet of Elusion by Katie Lynn Johnson

Amulet of Elusion (The Lost Amulet Chronicles, #1)

Amulet of Elusion by Katie Lynn Johnson

Series: The Lost Amulet Chronicles (#1)

Published: June 12th 2013

Publisher: Self-published

Summary: “Alexa Costa has a life-altering secret…only she doesn’t know it yet.
Confined by law to the kingdom of Alvair until the age of eighteen, Alexa has lived a sheltered existence under the watchful eye of her sword-wielding guardian, Ivy. Her love interest, Caleb Whitman, is exactly the opposite. A merchant sailor and seeker of rare artifacts, Caleb has lived a life of adventure in nearby San Lucero, the long-time rival of Alvair.
After her eighteenth birthday, Alexa’s quiet existence becomes tumultuous, and she realizes she does not need to seek to find adventure. Myths become real, legend becomes fact, and Alexa discovers that she possesses rare abilities which make her a target for both sides in a centuries-old struggle for power. She must use every resource available to her—including her talents with the supernatural Amulets— to help her friends, rekindle her romance with Caleb, and save her island home from destruction.”

Review

I’m going to be honest here, I didn’t know what to expect from this book. I started reading it without any expectation and I can only say I’m ashamed for that. Amulet of Elusion is a book that while it started a tiny bit slow for me, it picked up his pace really fast after the first 4/5 chapters and managed to have me neglecting certain things I had to do * cough* study *cough*. I was amazed by how fast this book grew in me, I really am. It impressed me by its character development, its world building, but most of all by the plot. Oohh I love me some kingdom conspiracies, witchcraft and badass heroines with.

As I was talking about, Amulet of Elusion might start a bit slow but when the action really starts and the plot picks up, damn, just damn, it’s soooo good. Alexa lost her family in a fire and was then raised by Ivy, a friend of her parents. Ivy taught her how to fight and, even though she was kind of overprotective, she was always there for Alexa and prepared her eventually for what was to come, even when Alexa had no idea what was happening all around her. You see, there were certain stones, amulets, that had powers and Alexa was one of the few people who could have access to that power. All the powerful people, especially the king, want those Amulets and a complex mix of conspiracies, races to find the amulets and politics start to take place and Alexa is right in the middle of it.

Don’t worry, of course there is romance in this books! And I felt myself completely immersed in it. They already knew each other when the book starts and thank god for that! I think it made their attraction all the more real. I was a bit apprehensive with Caleb’s POV at the beginning but eventually I figured they were essentially to have a better insight of the story and it complemented perfectly Alexa’s POV. They let the reader understand better what is happening and complete the other POV. Sorry, I don’t really know how to explain it. Let’s just say, it’s like Alexa and Caleb complement themselves. I just think Caleb doesn’t seem like a 20yr old most of the times. Wouldn’t mind him a little but older ehehe

However, I resented him when he was trying to protect Alexa in the end. You don’t  force the person you love from going to battle by chaining her to something! That is just wrong. I wanted Alexa to beat his ass for that. He was lucky she loves him so deeply. If it were me, I would use my amazing powers on him.

Urgh, I know I always complain but it’s so difficult to write a review without to many spoilers! So… This is a book based on a battle between kingdoms and the fight for power so you know there is a battle. Arghh it was amazing, I got chills reading it. And I loved the king’s wife, Jada. Don’t get me wrong, she’s as bad as a villain can get, ruthless, emotionless (unless in a certain scene) and pure evil but what happens in the end of the book, how was that possible? She must have some pure inner power to be able to pull a stunt like that (she gets the full power of an amulet out of nowhere it seemed).

I can’t wait to read Amulet of Power, book 2 in the series. Gah, what did Alexa do? What was her agreement with the Jada? I must know!

4 Chibis

*Amulet of Elusion was provided by the author in exchange for a honest review. Thank you!*

Leave a Reply

