Book Review: Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns, #1)

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Series: Fire and Thorns (#1)

Published: September 20th 2011

Publisher: Greenwillow

Summary: “Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness. Elisa is the chosen one.  But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will. 

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess. And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake. Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.”

Review

*This review contains spoilers*

My heart hurts, oh, it hurts. How could a book with such a premise become this? I did not like Girl of Fire and Thorns. Mostly, it bored me and I had a hard time finishing it. Of course, it had some good parts but for me, it fell short of what I had expected. I kept wanting to like the book but meh. Just meh. Something was simply not letting me.

Nothing could stop me from putting this here

Elisa is the rare bearer of the God Stone, a stone that is on the body of a person from time to time. It shows that the person who bears it is going to do something great that will have deep consequences on humanity. I’m not going to go too deep into what the story is because that’s what the blurb is all about and BAM she gets married. suddenly, she isn’t with her husband but with the rebels.

In the beginning I was actually enjoying the plot and the whole concept of Girl of Fire and Thorns but quickly grew bored and sometimes frustrated. Let’s start with the fact that Elisa is always described as a fat person and she is okay with that. Finally, a protagonist who isn’t today’s standards of beauty. She’s puffy okay, she can be badass if she wants too! However, I don’t know what happened, we reach the middle of the book and TATATAM all is about how thin she has become.

It was going so well and then this starts to happen. Then I actually start to  like a character because, just to be honest, all characters were pretty bland to me and not even Elisa (who, while not being an “Immaswoopyourass” kind of character, actually did a lot and got stronger throughout the book) kept me interested, AND HE’S GONE. Puff, no more Humberto. Okay, I had one problem with him. HE COULD NOT BE FREAKING 16 OR WHATEVER YEARS OLD. Unless I was reading about another character, come on, he had to be a little bit older. His actions are not those of a 16-year-old, not even one in that type of world. Nope, never. Oh! I also liked Hector. He might even hold a place closer to my heart than Humberto. He actually stood up for Elisa when needed and was always there for her when possible. 

Another thing that annoyed me profoundly was the fact that Elisa knew Alejandro was cheating on her and she just let him. I… I just can’t peeps, I’d just kick his ass, take the throne to myself and put him and his mistress in the dungeons. There they could do whatever they wanted for all I cared. Not to mention that Alejandro was an idiot and too pathetic to be a king. Can’t really say much about that though because kings aren’t really chosen… And what he said right in the end, that he always loved the other. Sorry, but she was a b***** that was betraying his country and he just chose to be blind to that. He deserved what happened to him. Even his kid was better fit to be king!

I don’t think the Inviernos story was well explained and was a bit confused when they arrived at the kingdom. All happened to fast that even reading twice somethings are still just a blur for me. Even though the series could grow better I know I won’t read the sequel.

1.5 Chibis

Leave a Reply

