Book Review: The Kiss Off by Sarah Billington

The Kiss Off (The Kiss Off, #1)The Kiss Off by Sarah Billington

Series: The Kiss Off (#1)

Published: April 1st 2013

Publisher: Billington Media

Summary: “When sixteen year old Poppy Douglas writes a song about her ex-boyfriend Cam and ex-friend Nikki, she has no idea that her heartbreak is about to go global. 
A local band picks up her song from Youtube and soon she’s along for the ride with her own fanbase as they blow up on the local club scene and hit the international charts. Though it turns out leaving Cam behind isn’t as easy as she had hoped. 
Tangled in a web of unfinished homework, ill-considered sexting and a new lead-singer boyfriend, Poppy has a choice to make between the ex that inspired it all and the rock God whose poster lines the inside of half the lockers at school. But as she struggles to keep her emotional dirty laundry private, she learns that the truth can be hard to find when your life is in the headlines.”

Review

I think this is one of the rare times I enjoyed a book WHILE disliking the lead character. Yap, my friends. I did not like Poppy very much. But I’ll get onto that in a bit. The Kiss Off is one of those books perfect to pick up during Summer, when you just want to relax either in the beach or just all cosy on the couch. It’s an easy-read, with some fluffy moments we all appreciate sometimes and a cool male character that makes us either want to slap him or just hug him and kiss him like there’s no tomorrow. Let’s say… For me he was a cuddle character!

While having its funny and undeniable heart-warming scenes, I found myself having trouble finishing The Kiss Off. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad book. Otherwise it would get a 3 Chibi rating. I just got so frustrated or mad at Poppy sometimes that I had to force myself to continue reading. I knew that if I just got over certain scenes I’d love the rest of the book. And wasn’t I right!

Right in the beginning of the book you get a good laugh when Poppy points to a random guy on the bus just to entertain her friend’s inquiry about whether she likes someone after her ex cheated on her. Madds, her friend, obviously excited by the (fake) revelation urges her to go talk to him, and Poppy doesn’t obviously have a choice. AND A COUPLE IS BORN!

I loved Ty. He’s not your usual rock band leader with the tattoos, with a past full of girls and whatever. He’s a normal guy, a fellow schoolmate I might say. He just got immensely lucky meeting Poppy and getting to use her song. As Poppy is always saying, he even brushes his hair. Guys don’t brush their hair, but this does! He’s all preppy and stuff. It’s a nice change for once not to read about a “bad guy” (not that I don’t like those, as you should know!)

But then we have Poppy’s ex-boyfriend, who I hated so much. Him and his girlfriend. I could not see what Poppy saw in him, I swear. For christ’s sake, he got together with Poppy’s friend right after Poppy “broke up” with him. I don’t care if she did or did not break up with him, BUT he should have waited a bit no? Not just move on as he casually puts it the next minute. And sure not with her friend. Quite a friend she had too. If she were my friend I might go a bit Sharkeisha on her and on him. I sincerely don’t know how by the end she feels like she was kind of a bitch to her. I’d just erase her from my mind and life. People like that don’t deserve the attention really.

Anyway. why couldn’t she just forget Cam and live peacefully with Ty, her super amazing rock star boyfriend? And, while getting me angry and ready to smack someone, I know that Poppy’s feelings and hesitations are completely normal. No one gets over her ex-boyfriend just like that so I get it that she might feel a little pull towards Cam even while together with Ty. What I don’t get is why she’d act upon it. Okay, she didn’t kiss him or cheat on Ty. But the hand-holding? Please, just stop that! It was torture to me reading those parts! If only I was there…

Also, there was a thing that passed right through me, obviously. Poppy let’s the band play her famous Youtube song, they get a contract, and BAM, her song is the hit playing on the radio. Only about 4/5 into the book do I read about her getting royalties. Shouldn’t she have gotten more involved in the process of the album making? Or gone to some reunions and stuff? I was a little confused about how they used her song and never said it was hers again or something… Don’t get me wrong, most know she’s the one who has written it but something felt lacking to me. I just wanted her to be more involved in the music industry, I think.

All that said, I don’t really want to spoil much of the book and I already said too much! I have to think about the booktalk stuff because it’s pure torture not telling all about that happens in the book. The Kiss Off is a rather enjoyable book that I feel will stick to my memory. I definitely want to read Over It, the sequel,  but I think I’ll wait a little bit before going into it. I feel I’ll just get angry again and I still have to get over The Kiss Off (got the pun? ahaha!). Maybe it’ll actually be a big surprise, who knows?!

PS: The cover is gorgeous! Just look at the colours.

3 Chibis

Leave a Reply

