Book Review: The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines, #3)

The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

Series: Bloodlines (#3)

Published: 12th February 2013

Publisher: Razorbill

Summary: “Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets–and human lives.” 
In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch–a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus wants to teach Sydney the secrets he claims the Alchemists are hiding from her. But as he pushes her to rebel against the people who raised her, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as she searches for an evil magic user targeting powerful young witches, she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her magical blood–or else she might be next.

Review:

For those of you who haven’t read the Vampire Academy series (the movie is just around the corner! *fangirling*) and who haven’t read any of the Bloodlines series’s books, then I strongly advise you to not read this review!

Richelle Mead keeps on surprising me, although the first two books of this series weren’t as good as the Vampire Academy series, this one is totally at the level of the VA series. Richelle has the power to catch your attention from the very first page… actually…the first paragraph which was:

This wasn’t the first time I’d been pulled out of bed for a crucial mission.  It was, however, the first time I’d been subjected to such a personal line of questioning. “Are you a virgin?” ” Yes guys, you read well, your eyes aren’t playing tricks on you! I won’t tell you who asked the V question, why or what happened next ahaha – if you are already convinced you must read this book, this is your cue  😉

In this book Sydney is busier than ever, first she must find where Marcus Finch is (later she will have to do something that goes completely against her Alchemist principles!), find Mrs. Terwilliger’s sister and defeat her, train magic, keep on helping to protect and hide Jill, prevent Angeline from screwing up, and let’s not forget her duties as an Alchemist, she must pretend Moroi and dhampir disgust her (I’m sure she has to do more!), anyway, Sydney has so many duties that I question myself how she even has time to keep up with school work and a 4.0 GPA. It’s Sydney guys, that’s all I can say … for her multitasking has a very figurative meaning.

My favorite moments are always when Sydney is with Adrian, the two of them together are just perfect! Something I would have never predicted when Sydney first appeared on the 4th book of the VA series. When you get to the part where Adrian teaches Sydney the power of seduction, oh god, it’s priceless! Later Sydney get’s to apply her techniques ahaha Can you imagine, Sydney, the Seductress?

If you’re wondering if Lissa, Rose, Christian and Dimitir appear in this book my answer is yes, yes they do. Only for a moment because all of them go to a wedding, (loved it!), as usual it is weird seeing Rose from Sydney’s perspective, I’m so used to Rose, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to see Rose as a figurative character.

And am I the only one who was amazed by Sydney’s evolution? She used to be so scared and spooked out about vampires and magic! Now she can talk to vampires normally, even kiss one certain Moroi in more than one situation *sighs*. Even though she now acts as if casting a spell is a normal thing she still regrets it and fears it at the same time, which just proves how truly brave she is. At first I was annoyed by Sydney, on Bloodlines, the first book of the series, I was just wanted to reprimand her “Pull yourself together girly!”, but in Indigo Spell I was astounded by how different she was. Being an Alchemist, it is understandable to be afraid of all things supernatural, so Sydney’s reactions, although annoying, were understandable. Also Adrian surprised me, this guy just keeps on getting better, he is still funny, sexy, sassy and flirty but you can also see some definite changes in him. You realize that Adrian has some real guts! I’m forever grateful to the author for creating such a unique character (how I would describe Adrian in one word, in two words would be: unique, SEXY). Obviously this book has all of those hilarious moments you can only summarize in “Adrian being Adrian.” – I’m in love with him, just, asdfghjkl, I wanna mother his children, I mean, his vampire children!

Also, I couldn’t help feeling sad and frustrated towards Eddie and Jill. Especially Eddie, the guy has been through enough, if you remember what happened to him on Frostbite, then you remember the horrors Eddie lived when he was kidnapped by Strigoi. I hate Angeline so much! I want to yell at her and smack her a couple of times, perhaps that will make her lose her ignorance and stupidity, girl get your head out of your arse!

Just as things got uncomplicated (after an attack from a powerful, yet unexpected witch) BAMMM! Richelle Mead ends The Indigo Spell with something I did not want! I so wanted things to end well (for now), I won’t spoil you cause I would hate for someone to spoil me about this. One of the best things about Richelle’s books is that things are not predictable, which is one of the biggest problems about most books. This book ended with a scene that made me both shocked and overwhelmed…

Oh God, Fiery Heart, thank God you are already available on book stores cause I’m coming for you as soon as possible. Oh, I so need to say this… Mr.Adrian Ivashkov being a smarty pants as usual, had his car named with a rather interesting name: the Ivashkinator… Have I mentioned I want to have his babies? I’m sure I have 😉

Playlist: Fiona Apple – Criminal; Nine Inch Nails – Suck; Katy Perry –  Roar; HIM – The Path; Fever Ray – If I had a Heart

5 Chibis

Leave a Reply

