Book Review: Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens

Thoughtless (Thoughtless, #1)

Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens

Series: Thoughtless (#1)

Published: June 11th 2011 (first published in 2009)

Publisher: CreateSpace

Summary: “For almost two years now, Kiera’s boyfriend, Denny, has been everything she’s ever wanted: loving, tender and endlessly devoted to her. When they head off to a new city to start their lives together, Denny at his dream job and Kiera at a top-notch university, everything seems perfect. Then an unforeseen obligation forces the happy couple apart.

Feeling lonely, confused, and in need of comfort, Kiera turns to an unexpected source—a local rock star named Kellan Kyle. At first, he’s purely a friend that she can lean on, but as her loneliness grows, so does their relationship. And then one night everything changes…and none of them will ever be the same.”

Review:

Can I just tell you how truly beautiful this book is? It’s just… there’s no words to describe this. Kellan’s and Kiera’s love story is so enthralling… I felt myself crying, laughing (at Griffin’s stupid sexual innuendos), swooning, getting red-hot mad, sexually frustrated (don’t judge me! read the book and you’ll know what I’m talking about!!), idk, this book made me feel so many different emotions, it’s like a roller coaster…

Once action kicks in you can’t help yourself, you just can’t stop until the very last page, or the last book 😉 And guess what?! There’s gonna be A FUCKING MOVIE!!!

If you haven’t read Thoughtless all I have to say to you is “Go to the next fucking bookstore and buy it!” This is not a stupid love story where two people see each other, just happen to fall in love right way and one month later they’re getting married. No guys… This story is about a couple, Denny and Kiera, who go to a new town, Denny to his dream job and Kiera to University. They start living in Kellan’s, Denny’s old friend, apartment. Kiera’s first impression of Kellan is that he’s a playboy, flirty and HOT, hot as in drop-your-panties-on-the-floor-kind-of-hot. Picture this, rock god, who plays in a band, flirts with every girl, hot bod, face that makes angels sing and a voice sexy enough to turn a lesbian into straight. (ok, perhaps I’m exaggerating ahaha).

As Denny leaves to another town, due to his work, Kiera and Kellan develop a friendship, a friendship that is constantly being  pushed, since they feel attracted to each other. On those times I just felt frustrated, I wanted Kiera to pull away and try to keep her distance. But then again, I think that if I was in Kiera’s shoes I wouldn’t have been able to control myself either around Kellan Kyle.

Then Denny decides that his work is more important than his girlfriend, he calls Kiera to tell her of his boss’s demands concerning work, he has to stay where he is permanently. Obviously Kiera broke up with him, I would’ve done the same, long-distance relationship are a pain in the ass… What I didn’t agree with was getting drunk and have sex with sex-on-a-stick Kellan. She should’ve thought through things instead of jumping into trouble. Denny returns on the next day begging for Kiera’s forgiveness, claiming he had quit the job for her. Kiera get’s back to him and makes an agreement with Kellan to keep their night together in secrecy. I was so sad for the three of them, specially Kiera, she’s a person with good intentions, despite all…

Afterwards, Kiera and Kellan get into a very dangerous relationship, full of ups and downs. Their path is full of passion, love and guilt, I felt both sad and mad at everyone, sometimes I wanted to help them, other times yell at them in rage. All of these contradictory feelings make Thoughtless the book it is, brilliant, deep, loving and passionate. I wish to have someone love me as much as Kellan loves Kiera, but truthfully, I don’t want to go through what these two go through :’)

I recommend this book to everyone who simply enjoys reading a breathtaking story.

Playlist: One Direction – Story of my Life; Extreme – More than Words; HIM – Gone With the Sin; Birdy – Skinny Love; One Republic – Counting Stars.

To read Ana’s review of Reckless (#3)

4.5 Chibis

One thought on “Book Review: Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens

  1. Pingback: New Adult – The Genre | Chibi Reader

Leave a Reply

