Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me (Shatter Me, #1)

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Series: Shatter Me (#1)

Publisher: Harper

Published: 15th November 2011

Summary: “Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.”

Review:

I’m a complete mess, this book is an emotional rollercoaster, what’s wrong with me? asdfghjkl, it’s so beautiful! I can’t remember the last time I felt like this -actually, Clockwork Princess, that one did a number on me –

Juliette is a seventeen-year-old girl who has been living in a cell for almost a year, she keeps a journal where she rights her intimate thoughts, she writes about her pain, how much she wants freedom and to see a bird. Juliette has what can be both called a curse or a gift. Juliette can’t touch people, otherwise they’ll either get hurt, or worse, end up dead. Life didn’t go easy on her, she was always rejected by her parents and her peers, who threw rocks at her and called her a monster, as such, Juliette doesn’t know what’s like to feel the warm embrace of someone who loves her and doesn’t know what’s like to have a friend. When she was 14 she tried to help a little boy, however, once she got her hands on him for too long, the boy was dead. Thanks to the unfortunate accident she was thrown into several hospitals and asylums, where she was submitted to tests to find out the reason behind her deadly touch. The doctors didn’t find it so she was taken to a prison where she suffered loneliness, hunger, cold and lack of hygiene.

Her life changes when she gets a new cellmate, Adam, a tattooed, dangerous-looking guy, who resembles someone she used to know. Adam acts like a prick at first, he takes her mattress and her sheet, later he explains he only did that to warn her away. Adams also likes to ask too many questions and sometimes can’t seem to keep his hands  for himself.

Two weeks go by until suddenly five soldiers step into their cell and take them both. Once Juliette wakes up she finds herself out of the small cell and surrounded by a luxurious room. She is then led to a very handsome young-man who explains her what her purpose from then on will be.

Juliette finds out that life outside a cell is more restraining and dangerous than she thought. You realize that Juliette is terrified of her own power and that she is probably going to be used as a pawn in a war she doesn’t want in.

I believe that this book has a romantic triangle, quiet a usual one xD This book made my heart squeeze in so many different ways and it’s so addicting, once you reach the end you wish you had read slower and for the book to have more pages!

I have to mention again my FEELS over this book, I could hardly contain my feelings inside!

Some of my favorites quotes:

“All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart.”

“I’m oxygen and he’s dying to breathe.”

“I’ve been screaming for years and no one has ever heard me.”

“His lips soften into a smile that cracks apart my spine. He repeats my name like the word amuses him. Entertains him. Delights him. In seventeen years no one has said my name like that

 I’m going to read the second one right now, and guess what? The third one of the series was published only two days ago! *jumps in joy*  🙂

Playlist: Loreen – Heal (full album)

5 Chibis

3 thoughts on “Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Pingback: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi | "fate is never fair"

  2. I recently finished this book and feel just the same! It was a little weird having a pseudo-triangle with the antagonist–but for this, it worked! The hook really got me for this book. Almost anything could have happened, but after those few few pages (and hot guy thrown into her cell–I mean, come on!), I was in. IN. 🙂

Leave a Reply

