Book Review: Savor by Kate Evangelista

Savor

Savor by Kate Evangelista

Series: Vicious Feast (#1)

Published: December 1st 2013

Publisher: Crescent Moon Press

Summary:I’m Dakota Collins, a tough talking, eye patch wearing, workaholic photography student. Why am I important? Well, maybe because I get to spend an entire month with Vicious, only the sickest indie rock band out there.
You see, I needed a subject for my Spring Showcase introspective in order to graduate. During a chance encounter at a club I’d been sent to cover for the Daily Gossip, our ironically named college paper, the features writer I usually teamed up with introduced me to the band—by accident, I might add. It involved a run in with a scary, bald bodyguard. Anyway, long story short, I signed a contract to take pictures of Vicious.
I should have known their handsome, yet way too serious for his own good bassist, Luka Visraya, wouldn’t be able to keep his hands to himself. He’s gorgeous and all, but the way he smiles spells trouble with a capital L. I’m in for a long month with him around.
Crazy shit happens and then some. So, if you want the skinny on Vicious and the events revolving around my stay at Lunar Manor, read my story.
Again, refer to the warning above.”

Review

I really like Kate Evangelista’s books. They are original, funny, and deeply entertaining. So how could this happen?? *cries* Savor is an unique book that will attend only to certain people. I’m not one of those people, unfortunately. I tried to like this book but failed, although there were times when I was enjoying reading it. All was going meh until the very end. That’s when things turned into “wtf is this?”.

Savor is about a girl, Dakota, who wears an eyepatch (someone say yarr-harr) because of something that happened to one of her eyes, and finds her escape in photography. One night she gets to meet the band of the moment, Vicious, and becomes their photographer for the tour. Until here, all fine. I liked Dakota and her don’t mess with me personality. She gave off the vibe of someone who is trying to be strong but is vulnerable on the inside and that only make me like her more. Also, she was funny and sassy as hell!

“I think I’d make the perfect Bond villain. I already had the eye patch. All I needed now was the perfect motivation to take over the world. And a white Persian cat.”

However, she grows weaker throughout the novel, getting insecure sometimes, which is completely normal and makes her more relatable, but it was frustrating when we wanted her to just say somethings out loud and she just kept quiet OR when she did some stupid stupid things. (There’s this scene where, in my opinion, she obviously rapes Luka in his sleep but whatever.)

I’m not really going to get into detail about the other characters because I didn’t feel anything towards them. I can only say that I liked Dray, the drummer. The band is a mysterious thing, you never know what’s happening and what the relation between them is. However, Luka is a SOB who kept me annoyed. I… I was so confused during the whole book. Does he want her only for sex or does he actually care?

We get all this amazing concert’s scenes, and I do wish I was there to see it. The photos’ descriptions are damn alluring and so beautiful written, I wanted to see them in real life. Those are the best parts of Savor, we become Dakota when she’s in her zone, whenever she’s focused we are right there with her. It’s a shame that didn’t happen all the time. We get a connection with the character for a moment and them boom, no more feelings towards it.

Savor, being a New Adult book had some graphic scenes and for someone who knows the genre that is okay. Nevertheless, near the end of the book, why would Dakota act a certain way (she jumps Luka’s bones in his sleep!)? Also, there’s this scene where Dakota photographs a sex scene between two band members… That left me a little uncomfortable.

Anyway, all blows up when Dakota’s background starts to be questioned and Kate Evangelista decides to give a paranormal twist to the story. I was completely thrown off by this turn of events. How did this happen actually? It just came out of nowhere. I didn’t like it and I’m sad to say I don’t think I am interested in the path the story is taking. Many characters were revealed to be not what I thought and my brain couldn’t really deal with it, it didn’t have the time because the book ended and we didn’t get any explanation just a big:

I believe that many people will like, even love, Savor. It was not for me but it might be a favourite to many. My advice is give it a chance and see for yourself.

2 Chibis

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Savor by Kate Evangelista

  1. Sounds like a wonderful story, well written with a twist end that might just ruin it?
    Is it worth the time reading just to get all into it end then your heart “broken” in the end?

    • It’s like I say in the review, many will probably love it. Kate Evangelista is one of my favourite authors. Savor just wasn’t my cup of tea but you might enjoy it! The twist in the end may actually make you love the story even more, who knows? It’s a strange strange book 😉 I didn’t like it, but many did (the average rating on Goodreads is pretty high – 4.22)

Leave a Reply

