New Adult – The Genre

For those who don’t know what New Adult books are, I found a good definition on Wikipedia (it always comes to Wikipedia, doesn’t it?).

“New Adult (NA) fiction is a developing genre of fiction with protagonists in the 18-25 age bracket. The term was first coined by St. Martin’s Press in 2009 when they held a special call for “…fiction similar to YA that can be published and marketed as adult—a sort of an ‘older YA’ or ‘new adult’.”New Adult fiction tends to focus on issues such as leaving home, developing sexuality, and negotiating education and career choices. (…)”

My definition for NA is: “oh well, a genre for girls like me, who like steamy romances but not too steamy. Stuff tend to get sexy but not sexy as in erotica. ahaha”

I’ve read some erotica books but idk, sometimes it’s just too tmi. Also, usually, erotica books have stories that aren’t worth reading, cause the whole story develops around sex and everything else is cast aside. And by everything else I mean like the main character’s life besides sex… It’s just plain boring most times.

NA is also a mix between YA and Adult, it has YA’s captivating stories and Adult’s smuttiness. It is kind of perfect in my opinion! There are a lot of YA books out there whose couples come to the point that they just have to… have sex? (omg, I’m laughing so much while writing this), and well YA usually then gets like “He undressed me and kissed me. (paragraph) In the next morning I woke up, it was so beautiful (…)” I usually get like “WHAT?! where’s the sex?! that was it?” yeah well, I’ve felt this feeling way too many times… first time with frigging Breaking Dawn (four books to get to that…). However, that’s just what is YA is, it doesn’t get to IT.

New Adult joins what I love the most about YA and Adult books, it is a recent genre (I think), but it is evolving a lot, there are more and more NA books getting written and published every month. There are even authors who had always written YA and are now writing NA. I guess it’s because our society is getting more… sexual? Ha-ha idk, NA is now what’s IN I guess… Or because, like I said, it’s the perfect combination, the Ying and the Yang, awesomeness and sexiness (lmao!)

Anyway, I found NA two years ago, with the one and only Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire! After I finished this book I had just to look for other NA books, cause it was pretty awesome!

Now, two years later, I’ve read lots of NA books, found amazing authors and explored several different worlds!

Here is the list of my favorite New Adult books, I obviously totally recommend them to you if you are a NA fan, if you aren’t, I still want you to read them since they’re totally worth the try!

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens (my review)

The Vincent Brothers by Abbi Glines

Easy by Tammara Webber

The Sea Breeze series by Abbi Glines

Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines (my review)

Captive in the Dark by C.J. Roberts

Rule by Jay Crownover

Frigid by J. Lynn/ Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski

Wait for You by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Taking Chances by Molly McAdams

Even though I said NA sounds like the perfect genre it is not my favorite… YA still owns my heart! NA has a problem, the same one I mentioned about Adult, most times the plot is all about a couple and their hardships… Sure it might be interesting for a while but then you need something you can only find on YA, the thrill, the adventure, the it’s not all about love, it’s bigger than that. But little by little, I believe NA will become better on that matter.

Leave a Reply

