Book Review: Capturing Peace by Molly McAdams

18599802

Capturing Piece by Molly McAdams

Series: Sharing You (#0.5)

Published: 8th April 2014

Publisher: William Morrow Impulse

Goodreads:Coen Steele has spent the last five years serving his country. Now that he’s back, he’s finally ready to leave behind the chaos of the battlefield and pursue his lifelong dream. What he wasn’t expecting was the feisty sister of one of his battle buddies—who has made it obvious that she wants nothing to do with him—to intrigue him in a way no woman has before.

Reagan Hudson’s life changed in the blink of an eye six years ago when she found out she was pregnant and on her own. Since then, Reagan has vowed never to let another man into her life so that no one can walk out on her, or her son, again. But the more she runs into her brother’s hot and mysterious friend, the more he sparks something in her that she promised herself she wouldn’t feel again.

Can two people with everything to lose allow themselves to finally capture the love they both deserve?”

 

Review:

Hot Asian guy?!

(this is Jay Park in case you are wondering)

Hell to the yeah I’m reading this! 

 

Sorry for being so graphic… xD

Anyway, let’s get down to business!

I hate the cover! It is terribly… terrible? There are so many things wrong with it… ughh, I hope Molly didn’t have a hand on choosing the cover… 

Anyway you know what they say… don’t judge a book by it’s cover, and indeed, I didn’t!

So the story begins with Reagan finding out she’s pregnant at 16, her boyfriend leaves her and her family pretty much freaks out.

Then everything goes into fast-forward (6 years latter) and we have Coen Steele who moves into his best friend’s town. His best friend just so happens to be Reagan’s brother. Reagan’s brother (whose name I can’t recall but I do remember his name sounds like Reagan’s) tries to set up Coen and Reagan together, which doesn’t really end well cause Reagan basically loses it and runs away.

After giving birth to Parker, Reagan renegades men (sort of), she dedicates herself fully to educating and providing for Parker, which I admire a lot.

Despite Reagan’s intentions she feels hopelessly attracted to Coen, and him to her, and as their relationship develops so does Coen’s and Parker’s relationship. Parker starts acting as if Coen is his father since he never met his.

I totally understand Reagan when she get’s all hot and bothered when Coen does something cute and fatherly with her son, what can I say, female hormones? Seeing a hot guy holding a kid, especially your kid is so adorable and completely hot at the same time hahaha 

 So yeah, when I see a hot guy with a baby/kid *coff Channing Tantum coff* I cannot help this urge to jump his bones like a cat in heat xD

One thing annoys me though… Coen is kind of cliche, although his is Asian, something we don’t usually “see” on a main male character (more male characters should be Asian, cause Asians are SO HOT), Coen is also the oh-so-typical guy who was in the army and has now some fucked up trauma to deal with aka nightmares aka flashbacks, whatever… So yeah I was hoping for more from him.

*SPOILERS AHEAD DON’T READ IF YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW* 

Btw, do you know when you get to that part of a book where it’s tittle connects to what you’re reading, sorta “eureka” moment? Well when I got to that part where Coen surprises Reagan on her b-day with a photo exhibition and finally tells her what the hell had happened to him… again I found so “ohh ok… this is so… expected?” yeah I was already expecting for this to happen… Coen’s trauma would get in their relationship’s way, they would temporarily break up, Coen would realize his mistake and beg for Reagan’s forgiveness. Of course then he would have to spill his beans about his “demons” and all would be ok.

– “A night of not remembering is heaven, but that”—­he pointed to the picture of the three of us—­“is my peace. You and Parker are my peace. You’re my life. My family. I can’t live without you, please don’t ask me to keep doing it.” – Capturing Peace by Molly McAdams

It was this moment I was talking about people.

I really loved the ending though! I love weddings!! 

Ok, ok, I really like Coen despite everything I said, he’s so sweet and romantic… When I was reading through that part where Parker calls him dad for the first time and Coen’s like “holy shit, he called me dad, oh fuck I wanna cry like a baby cause this is such a touching moment.”, yeah well that got to me! My stomach was hurting due to the butterflies… stupid butterflies, always messing with me when I’m reading something good.

4 Chibis

Leave a Reply

