Book Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Published: August 5th 2014

Publisher: Atria Books

Blurb: “When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.
Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future.
They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.
Hearts get infiltrated. Promises get broken. Rules get shattered. Love gets ugly.”

Review

I’m a huge fan of Colleen Hoover so when I found out she was releasing a new book I almost sang Amazing Grace in a restaurant. Yup, that would have been awkward mostly because I’m a nullity when it comes to singing. Obviously, I had to get my hands on the book as soon as it was released but I was a tad bit disappointed and I have to say this is one of my least favourite Colleen Hoover book so far. Well, I like it better than Hopeless but, you know, I was expecting something that matched Slammed. Either way, I can’t deny that Ugly Love was extremely addictive and that I didn’t enjoy reading it. Hell, I nearly read it in one go. If I didn’t need to sleep I’d probably have read it in one night. Having succumbed to my falling eyelids, I had to leave it to the next day (which is today actually). That’s right, this review is going to be full of fresh feels!

First and foremost, Ugly Love is probably one of the most beautiful, adequate and intriguing titles I have ever seen. It fits the book like a glove. Being the story of two people who come together and decide to don’t go against the immediate attraction that passes between them but refusing to let it go too far, this book sure made me see some of the ugliest sides of love. Now, don’t get me wrong, this book doesn’t depict any form of violence or disrespect. It shows how some people want to love someone but simply can’t or the way others make everything they can to make that person able to open up to them, It’s sad, it’s frustrating but it shows that giving up sometimes isn’t an option when you fall in love.

Tate is a grad student and nurse who has gone to live with her brother for some time. She meets on her first day a very drunk and passed out Miles, whom she has to take in and let crash over. Miles is a man with a troubled past that affects his very present. He can’t let go of an event that ruined his and another person’s life and now, even though he wants to move on he simply can’t. When he meets Tate the next morning he can’t run away from the attraction he feels towards her and proposes later in the book a simple relationship, free of any commitments, basically, he asked her if she would like to become his sex friend. This is the part where it gets tricky. Tate, starting to harbor serious feelings for Miles, agrees to this type of relationship so she could be with him. She knows she might get hurt, that it won’t be pretty and that he most probably will never love her back, but she’s willing to do everything just so she can get a little bit of him. This might seem a little strange and most would think she was disrespecting herself. It is a blow to one’s dignity to do this but I actually related to her on this because  I once was in a relationship with someone just because I really loved him even though I knew he was in love with someone else. To this day I keep thinking about why I did it but I can say I have no regrets and that I’m grateful for every happy moments we had, even knowing he would have rather have been with another person. This being said, I liked and enjoyed reading about Tate. Sometimes I wanted to yell at her for being stupid, to just leave him, yeah, but I can’t say that I didn’t want to see where the book was going.

Now, one thing that is a big turn-off in books for me is usually dual PoVs. I don’t like them because when I’m finally focused on a side of the story, the chapter ends and I have to get into another character’s head and it gets boring. Also, I don’t really like male PoVs. Another thing I try to steer clear of is flashbacks. HOWEVER, both worked on Ugly Love. Tate narrates the present while Miles slowly uncovers his mysterious past. Since I liked both stories, this strategy didn’t bother me too much. Both were angsty, both had their sweet moments.

One thing that bothered me, though, was the repetitions. Miles had a thing for repeating words in his POV. I don’t know if Colleen Hoover was trying to bring a little bit of slam poetry into this book again or what but it didn’t work. Also, Tate was always saying “I love the words he says. This is my favourite word now. Wait, NOW that’s my favourite word. OMG every word he says is my favourite word.” This might seem cute and adorable but believe me, after chapters of that you’ll start to hate every word he says just because of it.

If you plan on reading Ugly Love prepare yourself for Mile’s story because it kind of broke me. Be patient and let yourself become absorbed in the story. It might annoy you sometimes but it worked for me and I found myself being almost unable to put the book down.

3.5 Chibis

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

  1. Great review Ana 😀
    I so want to read this book and I agree with you about the title.
    I actually like Dual POV when it’s done right (there are authors that put it but it seems the same person…which is odd to say the least), and I’m way too curious about this one.

    • Thanks Joana!! :p

      I don’t know if you’ll like it, it has it’s annoying momments but it sure is a easy read and you won’t even notice that’s you’ve read almost the whole book in one reading!

      I think I’m starting to get used to the whole dual POV thing. I’ve been reading more books written that way and I’m getting into it, slowly, very slowly… I still prefere one POV and if possible female!

      I can only tell you to give it a try but don’t be expecting Slammed. It’s good and refreshing but it can get frustating some times.

Leave a Reply

