Book Review: Becoming Calder by Mia Sheridan

21405545

 

 

Becoming Calder by Mia Sheridan

Series: A Sign of Love Series

Published: 5th October

Publisher: CreateSpace

Goodreads:There is a place in modern day America with no electricity, no plumbing, and no modern conveniences. In this place, there is no room for dreams, no space for self-expression, and no tolerance for ambition.

In this place, there is a boy with the body of a god and the heart of a warrior. He is strong and faithful and serves his family honorably. But he dares to dream of more.

In this place, there is a girl with the face of an angel and a heart full of courage. To her family, she is the vision of obedient perfection. But she dares to want that which she has been told can never be hers.

Becoming Calder is the story of good versus evil, fear versus bravery, and the truth that the light of love has always found its way into even the darkest of places . . . From the beginning of time, to the end of the world.

THIS IS THE FIRST PART IN A TWO-PART SIGN OF LOVE SERIES INSPIRED BY AQUARIUS. THE SECOND PART, FINDING EDEN, WILL RELEASE SIMULTANEOUSLY. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.”

 

Review:

This is one of the best books I’ve read so far! Seriously, this is the reason why I wanted to write reviews in the first place, this book brought back long forgoten feelings!

I want to thank Mia Sheridan for writing such a master piece! Becoming Calder and it’s sequel, Finding Eden, are two of the best books I’ve ever read. There is love, hate, suffering, hope, murder, tears, blood and sweat… everything. It’s a whirlwind of feelings, one stronger than the other. I recommended both books to all my friends after I read it! They are amazing, it’s that simple.

Mia Sheridan is an author who keeps surprising me in the best way possible. I can hardly wait for what’s coming next! I want her to keep writing and publishing as fast as possible! After reading Archer, one of her best books I thought she couldn’t do better, because Archer was an amazing book! But I was so wrong!

Becoming Calder and Finding Eden should be read on a Friday night on holidays, when you don’t have to go to work the next day or have to study. Simply because you can’t stop reading. Once I finished Becoming Calder  I started reading Finding Eden because I couldn’t stop!! There is a massive cliff-hanger at the end of Becoming Calder. Yes, I am already warning you in advance! Think of it this way, I’m your friend, I’m helping you. Help yourself and take my advice to heart !

Becoming Calder is a story of a twisted reality, it is not in an alternative world, it’s in our very own world. And although at first it seems as if it is not, trust me, it is. This kind of fucked-up world exists, sometimes really close to us, but we can’t see it.

Calder is a boy who believes gods exists, that Eden was chosen to marry the one who they follow, the one who talks to the Gods.

This is a story of one society apart from ours, a society who doesn’t believe in electricity or technology. The story of people who blindly follow one single man who was able to fool them all.

Calder and Eden fall in love when they weren’t supposed to, they are both faced with the danger of their relationship being found out. During their blossoming love, they start to wonder and question all that is around them, all that has been told to them. Their family, the Gods, the society, the rules and even faith.

But what is to become of them if they try to run?

Do yourselves a favor and please read Becoming Calder. If you have already read it, please comment or send me an email, I would love to discuss it with you!

5 Chibis

Leave a Reply

