Book Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

13645645 Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Series: Uninvited (#1)

Published: January 28th 2015

Publisher: Harper Teen

Goodreads:The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she’s destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton’s tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn’t feel any different, but genes don’t lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he’s not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.”

Review:

This book is the shit. It was one of the best books I read last year.

As you were able to read on the Goodreads blurb the story takes place in a society where this HTS/ killer gene exists. Scientists found a way to distinguish violent people from non-violent people, separating them as if they were two different species.

The main character, Davy Hamilton, used to be the high school homecoming queen , a musical genius, used to have the perfect GPA and a rugby captain boyfriend. Then suddenly, due to obligatory tests it is found out that she is a carrier of the HTS gene. She is then immediately uninvited from her school, and pretty much normal society.

Later, she enrolls in a public school, on a special class with all carrier classmates, there she meets Sean, who is, in my opinion, drool-worthy.

But once Davy loses her mind when her jerk ex-boyfriend humiliates her in a party, she slaps him. Afterwards, thanks to a complaint filed by her ex,  the police takes her away and brands her with an H on her neck, to distinguish her from the other people.

However, stuff get even more complicated when Davy and Sean are taken from the public school, only to be transferred to a psycho-like facility, where HTS carriers, carefully chosen for certain skills they possess, are trained to become government killing machines.

This book ends with Davy, Sean and their friends escaping from this facility to a remote place near the Mexican border.

4.5 Chibis

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s