Biggest Literary Disappointments

Have you ever read that so-much awaited book, only to find out it was so terrible you wish the author would rewrite the book again?

Well, unfortunately I have had to deal with this occurrence one too many times. The anger doesn’t go away, trust me. Every single time I think about those books I want to strangle someone, usually the author.

Here’s a list of some of those disappointments, aka what the fuck did I just read.

1. Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris.

301082

Yes, it’s the very famous book series that inspired the also very famous TV show, True Blood. By the way, both the last book and the last season were terrible disappointments. And why? Well you know when you’ve bought all the books of the series, invested your time, money, love, sweat, blood and tears into it… ALL FOR NOTHING?

This book is like that. Our dear Sookie doesn’t end up with Eric, oh-no, she ends up with Sam! Sam the fucking shapeshifter whom nobody gives a fuck about!

Although the whole series is brilliant (13 fucking books), the ending of the 13th book killed me. It was as if someone had ripped my heart out of my chest and set it on fire. Thank you very much Charlaine Harris, I hope you burn in hell for this. (Or just rewrite the book, I wouldn’t mind that either).

2. Unleashed by Sophie Jordan

19445725

The first book was so promising, it was so, so good! Indeed, it was so good that I’ve decided to ignore this one, and pretend this book isn’t the continuation of Uninvited.

A piece of advice for all the book authors out there, don’t make us ship a couple on the first book only to destroy it completely on the next one. Ok? Please don’t do it, it will make us, readers, despise you.

As a matter in fact, after reading this series I’ve decided to never, ever, ever read a book written by Sophie Jordan, ever again. This was not the first time she let me down. As such…

WE ARE NEVER EVER EVER, GETTING BACK TOGETHER

#TaylorSwift

3. Hidden by Sophie Jordan

12522507

Sophie Jordan, again? Yes, guys, obviously Sophie Jordan is quite talented at writing amazing first books, but last installments? No, she sucks at it.

4. Fallen by Lauren Kate

6487308

I had heard great things about this book, I am still hearing them actually – which is really weird cause this book totally sucked. I believe someone is making a movie out of this… I will anxiously wait to go the movies and spend my money on something that will totally suck as well, the movie, I mean xD

5. Sever by Lauren DeStefano

12383869

There’s not much I want to say about this one, expect that Sever completely ruined a promising YA series.

6. Determined to Obey by C. J. Roberts

23431912

While I was reading this book I couldn’t believe my eyes. The only word I can find to describe such a book is the word disgusting. There are two things on this book that are HUGE deal-breakers to me, rape and pedophilia. Urghhh… Seriously, how could C. J. Roberts write this? Captive in the Dark had already been dark enough for me, I didn’t need more darkness to be added. I thought Determined to Obey would be as good as Captive in the Dark, but no. It was way too disturbing for my vanilla mind.

7. Rogue by Katy Evans

17830561

Is this the same author who wrote Remy?  *sighs*

I think not.

Thank you for reading, until next time.

(this gif illustrates how mad I was while writing this)

2 thoughts on “Biggest Literary Disappointments

  1. I would like to add Libba Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty to this list. Granted, I only picked it up because of the cover and the whole Victorian boarding school thing, I didn’t expect it to be great, but it was just…well…terrible. And yet the book had so many glowing reviews on goodreads…

    • I actually liked A Great and Terrible Beauty :p I don’t think Soffyy read it (and it’s her list) but I thought it was different from the usual! But I can see how people might find it a little boring, there isn’t much going on.

Leave a Reply

