Sofyy’s Book Review: The Taking by Kimberly Derting

17838475The Taking by Kimberly Derting

Series: The Taking (#1)

Published: 29th April 2014

Publisher: HarperTeen

Goodreads: A flash of white light . . . and then . . . nothing.

When sixteen-year-old Kyra Agnew wakes up behind a Dumpster at the Gas ’n’ Sip, she has no memory of how she got there. With a terrible headache and a major case of déjà vu, she heads home only to discover that five years have passed . . . yet she hasn’t aged a day.

Everything else about Kyra’s old life is different. Her parents are divorced, her boyfriend, Austin, is in college and dating her best friend, and her dad has changed from an uptight neat-freak to a drunken conspiracy theorist who blames her five-year disappearance on little green men.

Confused and lost, Kyra isn’t sure how to move forward unless she uncovers the truth. With Austin gone, she turns to Tyler, Austin’s annoying kid brother, who is now seventeen and who she has a sudden undeniable attraction to. As Tyler and Kyra retrace her steps from the fateful night of her disappearance, they discover strange phenomena that no one can explain, and they begin to wonder if Kyra’s father is not as crazy as he seems. There are others like her who have been taken . . . and returned. Kyra races to find an explanation and reclaim the life she once had, but what if the life she wants back is not her own?”

Review:

Kimberly Derting didn’t disappoint. As a huge fan of her other book series -The Body Finder, I was  expecting great things from The Taking. When I heard that this baby existed all I could think of was “Kimberly Derting”; “aliens”; “hot book bf” and “sign me up”.

I immediately ordered The Taking (hardcover version), because obviously I don’t joke around. I take my shit seriously. And by shit I mean the “book reading business”.

The Taking is about a 16-year-old girl, Kyra, who is mysteriously kidnapped in a white flash of light, only to return 5 years later. However, when she comes back she has no recollection of those five years, as a matter in fact, when she is Returned she is still wearing her softball uniform, with the same bruise of her shin from 5 years ago.

When Kyra gets to her house she finds out that her parents got divorced, her mother has another family, her boyfriend is dating her best-friend, and her father is a loser who is totally and completely obsessed with aliens.

Kyra finds herself being drawn to Austin’s (her ex-boyfriend) younger brother, who is now a 17-year-old hottie. But as their relationship develops, Kyra notices she’s being stalked by a guy with weird eyes and a men-in-black wannabe.

will smith animated GIF

Soon Kyra discovers that she didn’t come back the same person.

-Add evil laugh here-

SPOILERS:

  • I really didn’t like the way her Return was dealt with, especially when she sees Tyler, Austin’s younger brother. For her, it was if she had been dating Austin just the day before, and then she sees Tyler, all grown-up, and she’s suddenly in love? I don’t like insta-love, it’s annoying, unrealistic and superficial. You just don’t forget your boyfriend from one day to another.
  • If I’m ever kidnapped by aliens and returned to my home the first thing I’m gonna do is check if my blood is contagious to anybody. And if yes I have world domination to plan.
  • When Kyra meets the other Returned people and goes to their secret camp I felt like I was revisiting the Half-Blood camp from Percy Jackson. I love secret camps, they’re so… secretive. (I’m feeling extra-smart today).
  • I’m not sure whether I like Tyler or not. Perhaps on the second volume he will grow on me. If he Returns, that is.
  • I hope that when/if Tyler Returns he has super cool powers like invisibility and x-ray vision (I’ve always wanted to have that. I wish I was kidnapped by aliens; I would put good use to my new powers. –Like planning world domination).

All in all, you should read this book if you are an Alien lover (I know I am). If not, you might still like it.

4 Chibis

Leave a Reply

