Joint book review: The Baller: A Down and Dirty Football Novel by Vi Keeland

The Baller: A Down and Dirty Football Novel

The Baller: A Down and Dirty  Football Novel by Vi Keeland

Standalone

Published: January 18th 2016

Publisher: Self-published

Summary: “The first time I met Brody Easton was in the men’s locker room. It was my first interview as a professional sportscaster. The famed quarterback decided to bare all.
And by all, I don’t mean he told me any of his secrets. No. The arrogant ass decided to drop his towel, just as I asked the first question. On camera. The Super Bowl MVP quickly adopted a new hobby—screwing with me.
When I pushed back, he shifted from wanting to screw with me, to wanting to screw me.
But I don’t date players.  And it’s not because I’m one of the few women working in the world of professional football.  I’d date an athlete.  It’s the other kind of player I don’t date. You know the type. Good looking, strong, cocky, always looking to get laid.”

Brody Easton was the ultimate player. Every woman wanted to be the one to change him. But the truth was, all he needed was a girl worth changing for. Turned out, I was that girl. Simple right? Let’s face it. It never is. There’s a story between once upon a time and happily ever after…  And this one is ours.”

Review

Sofia and I decided to do something a little different this time. We read a book with an extremely curious and suspicious title and ended up loving it and as such we are doing a dual book review! So, when you see a book named “The Baller” with an enormous dirty subtitle, fear not! Give that book a chance and enjoy the ride!

Sofia’s Review:

5 F****** STARS

I can’t even talk right now, this book was SOOOOO GOOD!

The first half of the book is just plain funny and sexy, I loved Brody and Delilah so much! It was so entertaining to read their story, I really needed a book like this, I’ve been reading a lot of books lately, but most of them are the same, they just basically have the same story, similar lines, your typical broken hero, blah, stupid drama, blah
I was so not expecting to love The Baller this much! Vi Keeland is officially one of my fav authors right now, I LOVED the way she wrote this book.

When I got to the second half of the book, my enthusiasm got deflated, a third POV is added to the book, Willow’s POV, Willow is Brody’s ex-girlfriend. My heart literally beat faster and my feels got hit again and again; at that point I thought to myself: “holly shit, I’m going to cry so much, I can see it already”. True, I cried, but only a bit, due to other reasons.
I liked how this “love triangle” was dealt with. 50 points to Vi Keeland for how original this was!!!

Also, I feel the need to mention Delilah’s BFF, Indie. Indie is hilarious, I absolutely loved her.

Wait, have I told you how much I LOVED THIS BOOK???

Ana’s Review:

4 Chibis

When Soffy told me I should read The Baller I thought she had gone cray cray once and for all. Yeah, I was wrong. The Baller: A Down and Dirty Football Novel (well, that takes some time to say) is a hilarious book that has its down to earth moments of course but that most of the times will make you have a stupid smile on your face.

One of the things I liked about this book was that I finally read about a guy that although shows his interest in a direct way does not act like an abusing alpha male or jealous freak. We are introduced to a Brody that does not want a relationship, only a good time, but that quickly knows that he really likes Delilah and wants to give a stable relationship a shot. He doesn’t pull her everywhere, doesn’t kiss her when she doesn’t want to. He is always trying to show his good side, doing things that makes her feel special and only makes his move when she makes it extremely clear that she wants to give it a shot as well and in her own terms. I loved the sticks bouquet and the little fish gifts and was positively surprised when he was the first to talk about his past.

Contrary to Soffy’s opinion, I actually liked Willow’s POV. No, I didn’t want Brody’s ex-girlfriend back in the mix and didn’t want to see a love triangle, but that didn’t happen and while I didn’t want her anywhere near Brody, I understood her and felt for her and was happy that she was able to move on as well and will probably have a good future ahead of her.

Oh, and yeah, when are we getting a book dedicated to Indie’s story? Amazing character and wish I could have seen more of her!

2 thoughts on “Joint book review: The Baller: A Down and Dirty Football Novel by Vi Keeland

Leave a Reply

