Book Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

 

13576132.jpgThe Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Series: The Murder Complex (#1)

Published: 10th of June 2014

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Goodreads: “An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.”

Review:

(WARNING: Angry review/rambling coming up, if you don’t wish to read anything negative related to The Murder Complex don’t read this. You have been warned!)

You’ve got to admit, the cover is fantastic, but good God, this was such a pain to read.

This book has too many faults, the first one being the fact that it was way too fast-paced, I couldn’t even keep up with all that was going on. The world building was delivered on the first few pages, the information about this dystopian world is basically dropped on you, and you have to memorize it right then to be able to understand what will happen further on.

Second thing I couldn’t stand were the characters, I didn’t like a single one of them. At first I thought that I might’ve liked Meadow, but no. Even if at first glance she seemed all cool and badass, she is just a whiny teenager, who believes she’s the shit. And the blind devotion she had towards her psychopath parents, what-the-hell. She grows up to the age of sixteen never pressing her dad to tell her the truth about her mother’s death, even though it was obvious that what she had been told was total bullshit.
The other main character, Zephyr, is a pussy, I’m sorry but there is no better word to describe him. He’s a fucking pussy. The first time Meadow met him he was crying because he felt guilty over killing twelve people. Of course, he never questions why he’s committed not one, not two, not even three, but 12 murders?! He just goes with it.

Third thing I really couldn’t stand on this book was the INSTA LOVE. People, insta love is SO OVER right now. Nobody believes or even swoons over insta love, unless it’s some kind of werewolf mate-bond thing. If I read a book with insta love it at least has to be believable in some way. This “thing” between Meadow and Zephyr obviously wasn’t believable to me.

The only thing that would’ve made this book good was if it ended with the death of every character. That at least would’ve been original.

description

2 Chibis

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s