Book Review: The Lunatic Cafe by Laurell K. Hamilton

30273.jpgThe Lunatic Cafe by Laurel K. Hamilton

Series: Anita Blake; Vampire Hunter (#4)

Published: March 1st 2005 (first published January 1st 1996)

Publisher: Berkley

Goodreads: “In Laurell K. Hamilton’s New York Times bestselling novels, Vampire Hunter and zombie animator Anita Blake is an expert at sniffing out the bad from the good. But she’s about to learn that nothing is ever as it seems-especially in matters of the not-so-human heart…

Dating a werewolf with self-esteem issues is stressing Anita out. Especially when something-or someone-starts taking out the city’s shapeshifters.”

 

Review:

DO NOT READ THIS IF YOU DON’T WANT TO READ ANY SPOILERS

Anita Blake has got a hot date, with Richard, the werewolf she’s been dating for a few months only. As she describes, they’re still not very intimate, since they barely know each other. But as you know, if you’ve read this book, their relationship just goes really fast, way too fast in my opinion.

Jean-Claude is still trying to interfere with their relationship, for some reason. At this point I think this love-triangle, (turned into love-square) is just getting more and more stupid. I really wasn’t able to see the point. But still, you’ll see Anita admitting she loves both JC and Richard, even if in different ways -wtf?- Anita, get your act together, you don’t know either men well enough to say that. As a matter in fact, you sure don’t know Richard to accept his marriage proposal just because you want to jump his bones. Yes people, although Anita feels no remorse when she’s got to kill someone or something, she feels remorse about having pre-marital sex. – Bitch, get your priorities straight!

description

As for the crime that takes place this time, or crimes, we got a disappearance, a female shapeshifter
has gone missing for a few days, Anita delivers this case to Ronnie, her bff, because that’s just not what her job is about. There’s also a brutal murder (as usual), a man is found in the snow half-eaten by a bear (or is it?). Marcus, an alpha werewolf, who also happens to want to kill Richard, calls Anita to go to the Lunatic Cafe to have a few words with him. We all know that something else goes on besides those said words.

Although Anita Blake still manages to be one of the most badass female characters I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet, I gotta ask: Why the f*** does she wear corny-ass clothing? Everything about her sense of fashion is simply wrong! And I’m not a fashion guru, I’m more of a tshirt-and-jeans kind of gall. Why doesn’t she just dress herself like the typical UF badass heroine? Leather black pants, leather black jacket, Doc Martens and a sexy top? I got nothing against that. Instead Anita is a fan of fanny packs… That’s just wrong in so many levels.

That’s why folks, the first thing I advise you to do while reading an Anita Blake book is to completely ignore her outfit. Just picture what you would like to see her wearing. I sure as heck do that.

Speaking of clothing, since I’m sounding like Fashion Police, let’s talk about Jean-Claude’s cape, yay or nay? I kinda like it, I think it’s ridiculous, but it just suits him.

Let’s take a look at the people I hated on this book:
-Aikensen
-Titus
-Raina
-Markus – he’s such an idiot, seriously! How can anybody follow his orders? That scene with Alfred was just full-on crazy stupid.
-Kaspar -what even!! A wereswan whose name is Kaspar, can you think of something more hilarious? No? What about Anita’s fanny pack? That gets the prize.

description

The people I loved on this book:
-Edward – not surprisingly, I just love Edward way too much. Anita should bet on this guy, even if he is kind of psychopatish… Oh Edward *sighs*
-Gabriel??? I’m not sure, this dude likes pain way too much, but he just seems really hot. – yes, I’m just that superficial. I hope we see more of him in the future.

Then there’s also Anita’s mug collection, now I’d love to see a whole video haul on that, she has really funny mugs she likes to take to the office just to annoy the hell out of Bert, her boss. I find that highly entertaining, just like her stuffed penguin collection. A girl’s got to have muscle on her, but a girl’s also got to have someone to hold on to, even if it’s a stuffed animal, I’m all for that. (I love my stuffed alpaca, which I hold all night long).

As for fav quotes:
I had to smile. I knew more monsters than the monsters did.

“Following you around let’s me kill a lot of people.” Sad but true. – I don’t believe I have said it enough times: I LOVE EDWARD.

Sometime in February a box arrived from Edward. It was a swan skin. The note read, “I found a witch to lift his curse”. – OH EDWARD I SAW WHAT YOU DID THERE, HAHAHA

3.5 Chibis

Leave a Reply

