Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Published:  September 10th 2013

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Goodreads: Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .
But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.
Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.
For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behin

Review

Let’s just take a moment to think about how I probably added a new favourite author to my list. OMG ASJFHI AUYRN<I HEN98ACBY ENHQ ACWEANWRWQA Sorry for putting you through that horrible keyboard smashing but my heart is still skipping fast in my chest, my hands keep flailing, ok, I probably look like a lunatic, but guys, this is such a good book. FLUFFLY, that’s how I’d describe Fangirl.

First of all, I think I should mention that I grew up reading fanfics, mostly Sasunaru *cough* *cough* Don’t turn those judgy eyes on me! I liked me some Sasunaru, what can I say. Anyway, I don’t read fanfiction now, maybe because I’m always reading actual books but I have to admit there are some pretty good fanfics out there and I might look for on in the future to read. I miss them… Onto the actual book now! Fangirl made me remember those times and sometimes I saw myself in Cath’s position. Cath is a complete fangirl for Simon Snow, a fictional fictional character in Fangirl. Btw, thanks for that, I actually went looking to see if the books mentioned were real books, expecting to start ordering them and BAM, they are not. I wanted to read them *sniff* *sniff* Well played Rainbow Rowell, well played.

Fangirl is a simple book that’s not that simple. It begins with Cath and Wren, her twin sister, moving to college and how they adapt to their new life. The only thing here is that we are used to crazy college stories and how they meet the hottest guy in campus and then we get some angst and in the end everything is well and okay. Well, forget that. In Fangirl, we get a nerdy girl (who acts a lot like me actually), her crazy roommate and how she struggles to meet new people, while writing fanfics about Simon Snow. Of course, there is romance in this book but it’s slow and so cute I have to use this GIF.

We don’t get a perfect looking guy, we get a perfect gentleman! He has his flaws but is so damn gentle and arghh cute that you can’t help but love him. And the way he never puts pressure on her, PERFECTION! Also, I want a boyfriend who wants me to read out loud just to pass that.

I loved how Cath had some academic problems as well, making friends that turned to be not what she expected, this all made the novel more realistic. But I think that what I loved the most is how Cath reacted to a certain family problem. Her mother left when she was eight and now wanted to reconnect again. But she doesn’t accept that and well, you’ll have to read the novel to find out what happens. I just think that it’s amazing and it’s the first time that I read about how one doesn’t accept one back just because they’re “family”. Finally, someone had the guts to express what I feel, just because they are family by blood doesn’t mean they are FAMILY. If they left you when you most needed them, fuck them. I love Rainbow Rowell for this, she doesn’t talk bullshit in this book. However, I wanted to see more of her father. Their discussions were amazing and pure comedy and their interactions were hilarious.

If you haven’t read Fangirl what are you waiting for??? I’m already anxious to read Rainbow Rowell’s other novels!

4.5 Chibis

Leave a comment